• Registration to CCC 2020 Virtual is now open!

    Register today and join your colleagues from across Canada and around the world for CCC 2020 Virtual. Register now.

  • New financial benefits for CCS members

    In collaboration with RBC, we’re excited to grow our Affinity Program and expand our CCS membership offerings. From discounts on premium banking to perks and rewards designed for our membership, RBC Healthcare™ offers can support your personal and professional goals.
    Explore Offers.

  • Become a Member Today!

    Click here to join CCS or renew your membership.

  • Stronger together.

    The CCS COVID-19 Rapid Response has been able to provide important information to Canadian Cardiovascular professionals because of the ongoing support and collaboration from our sponsors.

  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4

Deadline: May 4th, 2020

This award was created in 1970 and is presented to a young investigator whose clinical or basic science activities are in the area of cardiovascular disease.
The Call for nominations for the Young Investigator Award (YIA), is conducted by the Canadian Cardiovascular Society in the spring of each year as part of the Call for Science.

Award Criteria:

To be eligible for this award, the young investigator:
1. Must have their first academic appointment be between January 1, of the 5th year prior to the date of award and July 1, of the year of the award;

2. Must be a researcher who is no more than five years from his/her first independent appointment at an institution (university, hospital, other research facility, industry) at the time of submission;

3. Must identify in their application that they have a confirmed academic appointment at the time of submission;

4. Must be pursuing a career in Canada; and

5. Must be the first or senior author of the research work.

A nomination submission must include the following documents:

1. A letter of nomination from a CCS member or non-member who is a Canadian clinician or scientist in good standing. The nomination letter must indicate the novel aspect or significance of the work, describe the role of collaborators, include a clear statement of the role of the applicant, and explain the impact of
the research;

2. An abstract submitted for consideration at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress. That abstract CANNOT be entered simultaneously in the CCS Trainee Research Award (formerly the Student Presentation Award);

3. An original manuscript, based on the abstract submitted, which must not have been published, in its entirety or in major part, prior to April of the Congress year for which the award is being considered; and

4. A curriculum vitae outlining education, past and current positions, grant support, trainees, and publications (papers, abstracts, chapters).

To be considered for the Young Investigator Award, upload the nomination documents with the submitted Abstract at CardioCongress.org.

Only one award application per nominee will be considered. Previous CCS Young Investigator Award winners are not eligible.

Award Prize and Presentation

1. There will be one winner from either category – Clinical and Basic.

2. The winner will receive $1,000 Canadian and an award plaque.

3. The winner will receive full fare economy travel to the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, Complimentary registration to the Congress and 2 nights’ hotel
accommodation (room and tax).

4. When appropriate, two runner-up awards (one in each category) in the amount of $250, accompanied by an award plaque, may be presented. The runner-up awardees do not receive complimentary registration, travel or accommodation.

5. The YIA winner and runners-up will receive their award at the CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

6. The YIA winner and runners-up will be highlighted in the Final Programme of the Congress and at a general cardiology plenary session, as decided by the SPC.

7. The winner and runners-up will present their abstract as first presenter of a moderated presentation session. In this presentation, they can also provide an overview of their current research program and of their vision for the future. The chair of the YIA committee or the co-chair of this session will do a short introduction highlighting the contribution of the YIA.

8. The winner’s name will be submitted to ACC for the Douglas P. Zipes Distinguished Young Scientist Award Program.

The SPC reserves the right to present no YIA award in a given year if they deem there to be no meritorious candidate.

If you have any questions regarding this award, please contact: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

  • Young Investigator Award Recipients

    2019   Marie-Annick Clavel, Québec (Clinical Science)
    Runner-up: Wenbin Liang, Ottawa (Basic Science)
    2018   Sharon Chih, Ottawa (Clinical Science)
    2017   Sanjiv Dhingra, Winnipeg (Basic Science)
    Runner-up: Jacob Udell, Toronto (Clinical Science)
    2016 Paaladinesh Thavendiranathan, Toronto (Clinical Science)
    Runner-up: Jonathan Afilalo, Montréal (Clinical Science)
    2015 Jason Fish, Toronto (Basic Science)
    Thais Coutinho, Ottawa (Clinical Science)
    2014 Fillo Billia, Toronto (Basic Science)
    George Thanassoulis, Montréal (Clinical Science)
    Runner-up:  David A. Wood, Vancouver (Clinical Science)
    2013 Kevin Harris, Vancouver
    2012 Clare L. Atzema, Toronto (Clinical Science)
    Kim A. Connelly, Toronto (Basic Science)
    2011 Harindra Wijeysundera, Toronto (Clinical Science)
    Runner Up: Vincent Chan, Ottawa (Clinical Science)
    2010 Sébastien Bonnet, Québec (Basic Science)
    Runner Up: Zamaneh Kassiri, Edmonton (Basic Science)
    Jack CJ Sun, Hamilton (Clinical Science)
    2009 Gavin Oudit, Edmonton (Basic Science)
    Runner Up: Darryl Davis, Ottawa (Basic Science)
    Douglas Lee, Toronto (Clinical Science)
    Runner Up: Lisa Mielniczuk, Ottawa (Clinical Science)
    2008 Alexander Kulik, Ottawa (Clinical Science)
    Runner Up: Davinder Jassal, Winnipeg (Clinical Science)
    2007 Hung Ly, Montréal
    Runner Up: Eric Suuronen, Ottawa
    Runner Up: Simon Bacon, Montréal
    2006 Michael Czubryt, Winnipeg
    Runner Up: Veena Guru, Hamilton
    2005 Nimesh D. Desai, Toronto
    2004 Michael Kutryk, Toronto
    Runner Up: Nantha Nanthakumar, Toronto
    2003 Glen Pyle, Kingston
    Runner Up: Derek Exner, Calgary
    2002 Subodh Verma, Toronto
    2001 Evangelos Michelakis, Edmonton
    2000 Benoît Lamarche, Sainte-Foy
    1999 Sonia S Anand, Hamilton
    1998 Peter E Light, Calgary
    1997 Lorrie A Kirshenbaum, Winnipeg
    1996 Ren-Ke Li, Toronto
    1995 Rui Wang, Montréal
    1994 Todd J Anderson, Calgary
    1993 Robert Beanlands, Ottawa
    1992 J Geoffrey Pickering, Boston, MA
    1991 No award given
    1990 Pallab K Ganguly, Winnipeg
    1989 Jocelyn Dupuis, Montréal
    1988 Gary Lopaschuk, Edmonton
    1987 David R Salter, Toronto
    1986 Marek Michalak, Toronto
    1985 C William Cole, Durham, NC
    1984 Paul A Spence, Toronto
    1983 Charles R Kerr, Vancouver
    1982 Henry J Duff, Calgary
    1981 Marc Bazin, Sainte-Foy
    1980 J Michael Lee, London
    1979 Bodh I Jugdutt, Edmonton
    1978 James Kelton, Hamilton
    1977 Jacques Rouleau, Sainte-Foy
    1976 Lynda Mickleborough, Montréal
    1975 Michael J Sole, Toronto
    1974 No award given
    1973 Eldon R Smith, Halifax
    1972 Pavel Hamet, Montréal
    1971 Leslie N Bailey, Winnipeg
    1970 Derek R Boughner, London