Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit

Deadline: May 14, 2020

This award was created in 1991 in honour of the late Dr. Harold N. Segall, who was a founding Member of the CCS and for many years served as the Society’s Archivist. It is offered in recognition of a significant contribution to the prevention of cardiovascular disease or the promotion of cardiovascular health in Canadians.

Award Criteria:
CCS Members are asked to nominate a Canadian individual, group, or organization that has provided tremendous participation for the betterment of cardiovascular health in Canadians by advocating for the prevention of cardiovascular disease or the promotion of cardiovascular health in Canadians.

A Nomination submission must include the following documents:

  1. 1-2 page Biography of the nominee or in the case of an organization, a 1-2 page background document;
  2. Letter of Recommendation to support the nomination

Submit a Nomination by email: CCS Nominations and Awards Committee This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Award Prize:
In addition to the plaque presentation at the annual CCS Awards Ceremony, which takes place during the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress, the Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit recipient will be provided with complimentary registration for the current year's Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

  • Dr. Harold N. Segall Award of Merit Recipients

    2019    HeartLife Foundation, Vancouver
    2018    Robert Hegele, London
    2017    Hude Quan, Calgary
    2016    Sonia Anand, Hamilton
    2015    Beth Abramson, Toronto
    2014    Norman Campbell, Calgary
    2013    Canadian Hypertension Education Program (CHEP)
    2012    Brian McCrindle, Toronto
    2011    The Canadian Heart Health Strategy and Action Plan
    2010    Andrew Pipe, Ottawa
    2009    John Stanton & The Running Room, Edmonton
    2008    Milan Gupta, Brampton
    2007    Vivian Rambihar, Toronto
    2006    Martin Juneau, Montréal
    2005    Elinor Wilson, Ottawa
    2004    Anthony Graham, Toronto
    2003    Bruce Reeder, Saskatoon
    2002    Joseph Ricci, Toronto
    2001    The Honourable Allan Rock
    2000    Rx&D, Canada’s Research-Based Pharmaceutical Companies
    1999    Jean-Pierre Després, Québec
    1998    Arun Chockalingam, Ottawa
                Gilles Dagenais, Montréal
                Gilles Paradis, Montréal
    1997    Terence Kavanagh, Toronto Rehabilitation Centre
    1996    Andrès Petrasovits, Cardiovascular Disease Prevention Unit
    1995    ParticipACTION
    1994    Physicians For a Smoke-Free Canada
    1993    J George Fodor, St John’s
    1992    Heart and Stroke Foundations - National and Provincial
    1991    Air Canada