Dr. Paul Cartier Cardiac Surgery Resident Award

This award was created in honour of Dr. Paul Cartier, who was highly regarded as an outstanding Canadian Cardiac Surgeon. The award is to be given to a Cardiac Surgery Resident who has made an outstanding contribution to the field of cardiac surgery through basic science or clinical research and who has demonstrated promise for a distinguished academic career in cardiac surgery.

Eligibility Criteria:
All residents enrolled in an accredited Canadian Cardiac Surgery Training Program at the PGY1 to PGY6 level at the time of the application deadline are eligible to apply. Residents applying for the award must submit an abstract via the CCC Abstract Submission Portal. When submitting your abstract you must indicate that you would like to be considered for the Paul Cartier Cardiac Surgery Resident Award under the ‘Recognition, Awards, & Bursaries’ task.

Selection Criteria:
The following must also be submitted via the CCC Abstract Submission Portal under the supporting documentation task:

1) Nominee’s curriculum vitae;

2) A letter outlining past research endeavors and future plans (maximum 2 pages); and

3) Letter of support from nominee’s program director outlining applicant’s potential for a future academic career.

Award Prize:
The winner will receive a $2,500 cash award, as well as an honorary plaque.
A call for nominations will go out to all CSCS members, with a closing date of May 4, 2020 at 12:00 (noon) EDT.

  • Dr. Paul Cartier Cardiac Surgery Resident Award Recipients

    2019   Derrick Tam (Toronto, ON)

    2018   Janet Ngu (Ottawa, ON)

    2017   Saswata Deb (Toronto, ON)

    2016   Hadi Toeg (Ottawa, ON)

    2015   Holly E.M. Mewhort (Calgary, AB)

    2014   Christopher White (Edmonton, AB)

    2013   Jennifer Higgins (Kitchener, ON)

    2012   Maral Ouzounian (Toronto, ON)

Wilfred G. Bigelow Lecture

Each year a distinguished speaker is invited by the CSCS to deliver this keynote address at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

  • Wilfred G. Bigelow Speakers

    2019    Sir Magdi Yacoub (London, UK)
    2018    W. Randolph Chitwood (Greenville, NC)
    2017    Pedro J. del Nido (Boston, MA)
    2016    Salim Yusuf (Hamilton, ON)
    2015    David Taggart (Oxford, United Kingdom)
    2014    Irving L. Kron (Charlottesville, VA)
    2013    Hartzell Schaff (Rochester, MN)
    2012    Chris Feindel (Toronto, ON)
    2011    Peter Smith (Durham, NC)
    2010    Hugh Scully (Toronto, ON)
    2009    Gébrine El Khoury (Brussels, Belgium)
    2008     Neil McKenzie (London, ON)
    2007     Michael J. Mack (Dallas, TX)
    2006     Bernard Goldman (Toronto, ON)
    2005     L Henry Edmunds Jr (Philadelphia, PA)
    2004     Richard Weisel (Toronto, ON)
    2003     Andrew Wechsler (Philadelphia, PA)
    2002     Raymond Chiu (Montréal, QC)
    2001     Alain Carpentier (Paris, France)
    2000     Craig D Miller (Stanford, CA)
    1999     Bruce W Lytle (Cleveland, OH)
    1998     Philippe Menasché (Paris, France)
    1997     Tirone David (Toronto, ON)
    1996     Merril Knudtson (Calgary, AB)
    1995     Alain Verdant (Montréal, QC)
    1994     Joel D Cooper (St. Louis, MO)
    1993     Gerald D Buckberg (Los Angeles, CA)
    1992     Hermes Grillo (Boston, MA)
    1991     Carlos Duran (Missoula, MT)
    1990     Antony RC Dobell (Montréal, QC)
    1989     Griffith Pearson (Toronto, ON)
    1988     Charles Hahn (Geneva, Switzerland)
    1987     George Rodewald (Germany)
    1986     Wilbert Keon (Ottawa, ON)
    1985     Raymond Heimbecker (London, ON)
    1984     John Callaghan (Edmonton, AB)

Annual Reports