CPCA Awards

Dr. Alain Cloutier Annual Achievement Award 

The CPCA Dr. Alain Cloutier Annual Achievement Award was created in 2016 to recognize Canadian CPCA Members who have made outstanding contributions in their career within the pediatric cardiology field.

Eligibility Criteria:

CPCA members are asked to nominate an individual:
1) Whose career has significantly aided the growth of and support to the pediatric cardiology field;   
2) Usually expected to be a Member or a Past Member in good standing of the CPCA; and
3) Has highly respected attributes relative to this award.

Selection Criteria:

A nomination submission must include the following documents:
1) A Letter of Recommendation summarizing the candidate's highly respected attributes relative to this award; and
2) A 1 to 2-page biography of the nominee.

Award Prize:

The award will be presented at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress (CCC) at the CCS Award Ceremony. The winner will receive an honorary plaque, as well as complimentary annual dues for the following year.

A call for nominations will go out to all CPCA members, with a closing date of May 4, 2020, at 12:00 EDT.

  • Dr. Alain Cloutier Annual Achievement Award Recipients

    2019               Ashok Kakadekar (Vancouver, BC)
    2018               Nicolaas H Van Doesburg (Montréal, QC)
    2017               Georges Delisle (Lac-Beauport, QC
    2016               John Finley (Halifax, NS)

John Keith Lectureship 

Each year a distinguished speaker is invited by the CPCA to deliver this keynote address at the Canadian Cardiovascular Congress.

  • John Keith Speakers

    2019               Philip Moons
    2018               Paul Khairy (Montréal, QC)
    2017               Hal Dietz (Baltimore, USA)
    2016               Gil Wernovsky (Miami, USA)
    2015               David Ross (Edmonton, AB)
    2014               George Sandor (Vancouver, BC)
    2013               Ed Walsh (Boston, USA)
    2012               John P. Finley (Halifax, NS)
    2011               Brian McCrindle (Toronto, ON)
    2010               Jeffrey Smallhorn (Edmonton, AB)
    2009               Deepak Srivastava (San Francisco, USA)
    2008               Stephen Daniels (Aurora, USA)
    2007               Constantine Mavroudis (Chicago, USA)
    2006               Jane Newburger (Boston, USA)
    2005               Jeffrey Towbin (Houston, USA)
    2004               Gary Webb (Toronto, ON)
    2003               Ronald Lauer (Sheffield, UK)
    2002               Richard Van Praagh (Boston, USA)
    2001               Eugene Blackstone (Cleveland, USA)
    2000               Andrew Redington (London, UK)
    1999               William McKenna (London, UK)
    1998               James Lock (Boston, USA)
    1997               William Williams (Toronto, ON)
    1996               Jean-Claude Fouron (Montréal, QC)
    1995               Roger Mee (Cleveland, USA)
    1994               Arthur Garson (Durham, USA)
    1993               Peter Olley (Emonton, AB)
    1992               Marc de Leval (London, UK)
    1991               Andre Davignon (Montréal, QC)
    1990               Robert Freedom (Toronto, ON)
    1989               Abraham Rudolph (San Francisco, USA)
    1988               Jane Somerville (London, UK)
    1987               Francis Fontan (Bordeaux, FR)
    1986               Richard Rowe (Toronto, ON)
    1985               Julien Hoffman (San Francisco, USA)
    1984               Paul Ebert (San Francisco, USA)
    1983               William Roberts (Bethesda, USA)
    1982               Joseph Perloff (Los Angeles, USA)
    1981               Alexander Nadas (Boston, USA)
    1980               William Rashkind (Philadelphia, USA)
    1979               Dan McNamara (Houston, USA)
    1978               Peter Rechnitzer (London, USA)
    1977               Gerald Buckberg (Los Angeles, USA)
    1976               Jesse Edward (St. Paul, USA)
    1975               John Kirklin (Birmingham, USA)
    1974               Thomas Bigger Jr (New York, USA)
    1973               Pierre Grondin (Montréal, QC)
    1972               Norman Shumway (Palo Alto, USA)
    1971               William Mustard (Toronto, ON)
    1970               Dwight Harken (Boston, USA)
    1969               Jean Lenegre (Paris, FR)
    1968               Wilfred Bigelow (Toronto, ON)
    1967               John Keith (Toronto, ON)

Richard Rowe Award

The Richard Rowe Research Prize is presented annually to an individual for outstanding research in heart disease in children undertaken during training.

Eligibility Criteria:

Applicants may be from all levels of trainees including Residents, Fellows, Graduate or Medical students, and must:
1) Attend a Canadian institution or Canadian training abroad, and be either in training or completed training within the twelve months prior to submission;                   
2) Have done research related to heart disease in children, and 3) Have had significant conceptual input into its development and have largely performed the research.

Regulations and Oral Presentation:

Candidates must submit an abstract via the CCC Abstract Submission Portal. When submitting your abstract you must indicate Congenital as the submission theme and indicate that you would like to be considered for the Richard Rowe Research Prize under the ‘Recognition, Awards, & Bursaries’ task.

Award Prize: The winner of the award will be announced at the CCC following the Richard Rowe Session
presentations.  The winner will receive a $500 cash award and an honorary plaque.

Submission Deadline: May 4, 2020, at 12:00 EDT.

  • Richard Rowe Research Prize Winners

    2019               Lily Lin (Edmonton, AB)
    2018               Lily Lin (Edmonton, AB)
    2017               Stephanie Fusnik (Saskatoon, SK)
    2016               Billie-Jean Martin (Edmonton, AB)
    2015               Audrey Dionne (Montréal, QC)
    2014               Thomas Roston (Vancouver, BC)
    2013               Mélanie Capredon (Montréal, QC)
    2012               Michel Cameron (Montréal, QC)
    2011               Richdeep S. Gill (Edmonton, AB)
    2010               Danny Del Duca (Montréal, QC)
    2009               Nee Khoo (Edmonton, AB)
    2008               Edward Hickey (Toronto, ON)
    2007               Edward Hickey (Toronto, ON)
    2006               Danny Quaglietta (Toronto, ON)
    2005               EJ St-Michel (Montréal, QC)
    2004               Masaki Nii (Toronto, ON)
    2003               Fraser Golding (Toronto, ON)
    2002               Bernard Thebaud (Calgary, AB)
    2001               Karim Bandali (Toronto, ON)
    2000               Jean-Francois Legare (Halifax, NS
    1999               Evangelos Michelakis (Edmonton, AB)
    1998               Paul Kantor (Edmonton, AB)
    1997               No award given
    1996               Jean-Luc Bigras (Toronto, ON)
    1995               Karen Thompson (Toronto, ON)
    1994               Li Wang (Calgary, AB)
    1993               Shona Torrance (Toronto, ON)
    1992               Michael Libin (Toronto, ON)
    1991               David Patton (Halifax, NS)
    1990               Lucile Houyel (Montréal, QC)