Priority Areas

Following the direction of the Quality Project Steering Committee, the Canadian Cardiovascular Society’s (CCS) Quality Indicator Working Groups oversee the development and implementation of reports and measures in their specialized area of cardiovascular care; organize and lead national efforts in actionable cardiovascular care quality enhancements; and lead education in quality process management in cardiovascular care through Continuing Professional Development programs.

In 2018, as part of the Quality Project’s evolving strategy and scope, CCS Working Groups merged with their relevant affiliate societies to leverage expertise and enhance collaboration and synergy within the cardiovascular community.

Below is a list of all active CCS Working Groups, and their associated chairs/vice-chairs:

CCS/CHFS Heart Failure Quality Working Group
Chair: Robert McKelvie, Western University
Vice-Chair: George Heckman, University of Waterloo

CCS/CAIC Percutaneous Coronary Intervention Quality Working Group
Chair: Ata ur Rehman Quraishi, Dalhousie University
Vice-Chair: Robert Welsh, University of Alberta

CCS/CSCS Cardiac Surgery Quality Working Group
Chair: James Abel, Providence Health Care, St. Paul’s Hospital
Vice-Chair: Ansar Hassan, New Brunswick Heart Centre

CCS/CHRS Arrhythmia Quality Working Group
Chair: Jafna Cox, Cardiovascular Health Nova Scotia
Vice-Chair: Allan Skanes, London Health Sciences Centre

CCS/CACPR Cardiac Rehabilitation & Secondary Prevention Quality Working Group
Chair: Sherry Grace, York University and University Health Network
Vice-Chair: Neville Suskin, London Health Sciences Centre

CCS/CAIC/CSCS Transcatheter Aortic Valve Implantation Quality Working Group
Chair: Anita Asgar, Montreal Heart Institute
Vice-Chair: Sandra Lauck, St. Paul’s Hospital, Centre for Heart Valve Innovation, University of British Columbia